Scholarship committee chair Peggy Amatangelo, scholarship winner Julia Maruca, 2013 winner Connor Michael Phillips, 2015 winner Jason Hu, McCandless Democratic Committee Chair Michael PasternakWe are pleased to announce that Julia C. M. Maruca is the recipient of the 2017 McCandless Democratic Committee Scholarship. She is an aspiring journalist who will be attending Boston University Kilachand Honors College in the fall. Her essay deals with the importance of speaking on environmental issues and climate change, what we stand to lose from pollution and environmental damage, and the cooperation and teamwork it will take to make a difference. As a writer, she hopes to use her skills to spread awareness and facts about climate change. This year Julia is the Co-Editor in Chief of the North Allegheny North Star Magazine. She is looking forward to improving and building upon her strengths as a writer and environmental advocate. Julia is a committed volunteer with the NASH Key Club, the National Honors Society, the Marshall Elementary School Newspaper Club, and the Carnegie Library Hill District Reading Buddies program. She is also a musician in the North Allegheny Tiger Marching Band, Honors Wind Ensemble, and Jazz Bands. Julia is the daughter of William H. Maruca and Susan M. Morris of McCandless.

The McCandless Democratic Committee awarded its first scholarship in 2006, and has raised more than $18,000 for students at North Allegheny through the efforts of the committee members. The annual scholarship is awarded to a North Allegheny senior who is a registered Democrat or child of a Democrat. The applicants are evaluated based on their civic engagement, academic achievement, and an essay about an issue from the Democratic platform. Past recipients of the scholarship have gone on to study political science, journalism, social work, and public health. Amatangelo, Scholarship Committee Chair stays in touch with former Scholarship recipients via email. Hearing of the continued successes of these incredibly talented students, "makes all our efforts worthwhile", reports Amatangelo.

Ms. Amatangelo is a former staff member of North Allegheny School District. Her scholarship committee this year is comprised of Jennifer Rapach and Joyceann Ditka. The McCandless Democratic Committee members also volunteer at the North Hills Community Outreach, and raise money for other charities.

Thank you for your interest in our scholarship. We wish all of North Allegheny's Seniors success in their future endeavors.

Please check here for donors we would like to thank in addition to those that contributed anonymously at the pasta dinner:
Vince & Peggy Amatangelo
Betty Coyne
Joyceann Ditka
Jack Goodrich
Donald & Kathryn Green
Marcia Caliendo & Paul Heckman
Nora & Arnold Peace
Pavara Ranatunga
David & Pat Sobien
Sharon Volpe
Joann & Mark Wainwright

The Scholarship Committee
Peggy Amatangelo, Chairperson
Joyceann Ditka
Jennifer Rapach